I Live with An Avenger

A few weeks ago, I went to the theaters and watched Avengers: Age of Ultron. And all I have to say about the movie is that it’s AWESOME. My favorite Avenger has to be Captain America. The reason he’s my favorite is not because he’s good-looking or because he has a great build, no. Yeah, those features are great but the main reason he’s my favorite is because he was not always the hero he is today. Before he became the hero everyone looked up to, he was just a scrawny short man with various health and physical problems. When he’s given the chance to undergo a super soldier experiment he takes it, knowing that this is the only way he can fight in the war. And because of this experiment, he became the soldier we all know him as today. Tall, muscular, and strong. What I admire the most about Captain America is the sacrifice he made. He gave everything up so American cities would be saved from mass destruction. As he plunged into the Arctic, he knew that Peggy and his life were on the line. But still he did it to save millions of people. Now, you wouldn’t believe me if I told you that I’ve been living with my very own Avenger since the day I was born.  Well, I’m going to prove you wrong.

Let me tell you a little about this “Avenger.” This person is a  female. She’s a little bit on the older side. She around 5 feet 3, has black hair, and brown eyes. Like Hawkeye, she also has a family of her own. Like Captain America, she wasn’t always the strong woman she is today. She did it through sleepless night, dedication, and hard work. When she gets angry, she’s a female version of hulk. She doesn’t turn into a giant or green, but you know she’s mad at you from the look at you and the string of words that are flying towards you at 100 mph. And although she’s yelling at you like a mad-woman, she does it for a reason. She does it because she care.

If you haven’t guess it by now, this avenger is my mother. My mother may not be able to save the world from foreign attacks like the Avengers do, but to me she is still a hero.

There was a time when she was young like me. When she had time to hang out with her friends, go shopping, and spend hours having fun without having to worry about someone else. There was a time when she was beautiful. When she had time to put on makeup and do her hair. It was a time when she had people to impress. She made her biggest sacrifice, the day she gave birth to me. Peaceful nights became sleepless night. She couldn’t go out without worry where I was and how I’m doing. Those bright beautiful eyes soon disappeared, and in their place came dark circles. She cut off her long hair, always keeping in at shoulder length so she didn’t have to spend much time taking care of it. It wasn’t that she wasn’t beautiful anymore. She just embodied a different kind of beauty. The beauty before showed that she was a young woman having the time of her life, but this beauty showed that she was a loving and caring mother.

Photo ©2014 by BK [CC BY-SA 2.0]
Photo ©2014 by BK [CC BY-SA 2.0]
Just like me, everyone out there has someone like this. Someone who was willing to sacrifice much of their life for us. And sometimes we get irritated and angry at them because we want to be independent but to them we would always be that little girl or boy. Although we sometimes forget to say thank you, we know deep down in our heart that without them, there wouldn’t be us. We don’t have to say those 3 words for them to understand. Because even though they don’t have superpowers, they always seem to know.

So you don’t have to look far for an Avenger. I’m living with one and so are you.

Photo ©2007 by dawnzy58 [CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)]
Photo ©2007 by dawnzy58 [CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)]
-Jennifer

Leave a Reply

