Finishing an Assignment

Have you ever finished an activity, stepped back, and just breathed a sigh of relief? Maybe it was something small and you didn’t have to do much anyways, but the act of finishing it makes you feel like you’ve accomplished something?

FullSizeRender (3)

For me, because I am only in high school, I feel that most often with assignments. Even if my math teacher only assigned me five problems to do for the night, finishing them makes me feel like I have at least made a dent in my homework situation.

Starting multiple assignments and never bringing any of them to conclusion, doesn’t bring about the same feeling. I can be one problem away from finishing multiple assignments, but unless I type that last sentence or do that last calculation, I just won’t feel finished.

I have grown up with all of my actions being graded. Not in a mean, you’re-not-good-enough way, but as an incentive for me to work harder. My parents would look at my cleaning job and rate it. If I only got a C, I would have to go back and re clean until I got an A. I could sometimes pass with a B, but that was only when they felt generous. While I absolutely despised the system when I was failing it, now that I am getting older and gaining more responsibility, I am coming to be grateful for it. If it were not for this system, I wouldn’t push myself to be the best I can be. I would settle for average. My parents are the reason I feel like this when I complete an assignment.

I don’t know if anyone else feels this way when they are working on a project, but I promise you that you are not alone.

Leave a Reply

