French Fry Fanatic

Who can help but fall in love with these thinly sliced and fried potatoes? Ever since I was a kid, my favorite food has been french fries.

These oily, salty finger foods represented my childhood. They go with basically everything. It’s a staple side dish ranging from restaurants like McDonalds (with their famously consistent golden fries) to homemade french fries that are freshly cut and fried.

Photo ©2012 by  CieraHolzenthal [CC BY-NC-ND 2.0]
Photo ©2012 by
CieraHolzenthal [CC BY-NC-ND 2.0]
The level of healthiness: 0

The level of deliciousness: 

I just don’t care that these potato slices were just soaking in a bat of oil that is not healthy for my body. When they come out of the fryer and are sparkling with a layer of greasy oil.

Photo ©2009 by  William Jones [CC BY-NC-SA 2.0]
Photo ©2009 by
William Jones [CC BY-NC-SA 2.0]
To this day, I can’t eat a hamburger without fries. Well, technically, I can, but I would pout because I need my side of fries with it because it just makes the burger taste infinitely better. And it has to be a certain type of fries. Thinly sliced with salt on it. I need a dipping of ketchup (sometimes with Sriracha mixed in) or thousand island, and on occasion, ranch.

Simple sea salt and pepper french fries!
Photo ©2009 by KidItamae [CC BY-NC-SA 2.0] Simple sea salt and pepper french fries!
You could say that I’m a picky eater. I drive my mom crazy when I get picky, but that’s for another blog post. She just hates that sometimes I would prefer to eat a spicy cup of noodles over fish.

So again with my pickiness, I only like certain fries. Truly, the only type of french fries I hate are sweet potato fries. I don’t have anything against sweet potatoes, but I just don’t like the taste. I also don’t like steak fries. They’re just not crispy enough for me and there is too much soft potato inside for my liking. Crinkle fries are another one of my dislikes of fries. Too much soft, not enough crunch. Again, I’m not against soft fries. For example, I happen to like In-N-Out french fries. Their freshly made fries come out a little more on the limpy side, but that’s like a trademark for In-N-Out. They just go with the burger in my opinion, so I don’t quite mind. I guess there is always an exception for everything. I’m just very picky with my french fries.

Other than those dislikes, I’m up for any other french fry type. Shoestring, Waffle, Chili Cheese, Animal Style, Garlic, Truffle, Curly, Carne Asada, Homemade. I could go on about how much I love fries. I love fries of (most) shapes and sizes.

Photo ©2013 by  jeffreyw [CC BY 2.0]
Photo ©2013 by jeffreyw [CC BY 2.0]
I’m picky about my food, but just about every other decision, I am indecisive. Ask me what I want to me? I don’t know. Ask me if I like this shirt? Not sure. Ask me my favorite color? No idea today. But french fries, there is always a definite answer.

Writing this blog post on a Saturday night while I’m starving for food isn’t the best idea, because I have literally been staring at pictures of french fries for a good 30 minutes. I’m tempted to drive myself out to get some. But I can’t drive. YET. So midnight french fry run, I’M COMING FOR YOU.

-A very very hungry Mary

(I guess you could call me a Small Fry because I’m 4 feet 11 inches and a french fry fanatic)

Leave a Reply

