The Roaring Writer

Recently, I finished The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Now, I’m just like any other high school student, reading this tale chronicled by Fitzgerald. It’s a cliche thing to do as a high schooler.

So, I’m no special than any other person for reading the Great Gatsby.

But I’m not here to discuss how Gatsby inspired me to see the green light, the hope in everybody. I’m not here to discuss why Nick Carraway is like my friend too.

I want to write about Fitzgerald himself, and his writing.

The most interesting part about this novel, was the rhetorical and syntax strategies that Fitzgerald uses to get across his argument.

As a writer, I feel like you struggle to find a medium between pouring out all your feelings, or merely staying conservative and writing a dry essay about a certain topic.

Fitzgerald has a strong opinion about the 20’s. He hates the 20’s. He believes that the height of the United States has been reduced to a Valley of Ashes. He sees all people, women, especially, as dry, shallow creatures. To Fitzgerald, everything is poisoned with money, glamour, and material.

Fitzgerald could have easily written a 180 paged book ranting about his perception of society in the 20’s. But he didn’t. Yet, he was able to put out all his ideas in an eloquent and smart manner and present them better than a rant would.

There’s 2 things that a rant can accomplish:

A rant lets people know how strong your feelings are…

A rant causes a lot of problems.

Rants are very powerful, indeed. Verbal and scripted ranting is quite cathartic.

Yet, Fitzgerald accomplished everything that a rant could do (even more I daresay) and he left out all the problems and the negative side effects of a rant with The Great Gatsby.

And in my opinion, that’s so incredible.

How can a writer portray his in loud, screaming, notes in such a wonderful manner?

The Great Gatsby inspired me. Not by the characters, not my the quotes of Nick Carraway. But Fitzgerald did.

When I read The Great Gatsby, I felt as though I was taking my own leap into Fitzgerald’s mind. I felt like I was probing at his thoughts, delving into his words and really thinking about what he had to say.

Fitzgerald takes on the persona of Nick Carraway, by arguing that not he, but Nick, in fact wrote The Great Gatsby. And it’s through Nick’s narrations (or should I say Fitzgerald’s narration) that we found out these bits and pieces of his personality, and we see a clouded, biased point of view from all the characters.

With this, we get what Fitzgerald is trying to say with the novel.

The messages that Fitzgerald displays within Gatsby are read by millions of people. They’re interpreted in a million different ways.

How can I be more like Fitzgerald in my own writing? How can I write something that resonates my feelings, yet doesn’t come out in an awful and distasteful manner?

How can I make the assumption that people will understand what I’m trying to say?

How can I ever be comfortable with people reading my own writing, my own diary for goodness sake?

“No- Gatsby turned out all right at the end; it is what preyed on Gatsby, what foul dust floated in the wake of his dreams that temporarily closed out my interest in the abortive sorrows and short-winded elations of men.”

I’ll end my post with this quote here, which I believe, encompasses the whole novel.

Happy reading, my friends.

-Kristie

Leave a Reply

