Unsatisfied Cravings

I have been having the strongest craving for fish for the past couple months. Only sushi though, because I hate all fish otherwise.

I don’t know why I just hate any other type of fish. The taste just doesn’t appeal to me unless it’s wrapped in rice, seaweed, vegetables, and dipped into soy sauce (without wasabi for me). Or just raw.

I know what you’re thinking.

“That’s so weird, how can she like sushi but hate fish? That makes no sense at all.”

I think it’s just the taste of cooked fish that I don’t like. I prefer large rolls stuffed with cucumbers, tempura, salmon, tuna, cream cheese, crab, avocado, and the endless combinations that defines sushi.

Photo ©2006 by ulterior epicure [CC BY-NC-ND 2.0]
Photo ©2006 by ulterior epicure [CC BY-NC-ND 2.0]

Compared to cooked sushi rolls, Sashimi is actually kind of gross sounding, because I’m eating raw fish. Definitely doesn’t sound that appealing. But I never knew what I was missing by just merely eating California Rolls. When the server comes out with the plate of sashimi, the fish is glistening in contrast to the dull wooden sushi plate, my mouth is watering as my stomach lets out a loud groan. Dipping the piece of fish into the soy sauce and drawing it close to my mouth and finally savoring the explosion of flavor. It momentarily stops the thought of “I’m eating raw fish right now ew”. My taste in sushi has definitely changed from when I was younger. My favorites changing from California Rolls to sashimi with more exposure to sushi.

With more peer review and feedback, my definition essay has changed greatly. For this essay, I was to describe a word and what it meant to me. When I first went into the first peer revision, I was asked what word I was defining. At that point, I wasn’t even sure, I was juggling between pictures and memories and hadn’t made it clear. My ideas were jumbled and I was flustered. 2 revisions later, I finally had a grasp on which word I was going to define. Pictures. Okay, step 1 completed. What next? I knew what word I was going to write about, but how was I going to write a definition essay?

Photo ©2008 by Thomas Hawk [CC BY-NC 2.0]
Photo ©2008 by Thomas Hawk [CC BY-NC 2.0]

Although I had my struggles with narrative and descriptive essays, this essay threw me for a loop. I had to use BOTH modes of writing. But how am I supposed to know how much description I should use without making it a descriptive essay? The distinction between the essays blurred at this point and I decided to focus solely on the question, “What does this word mean to me?”

Each revision taught me something new, whether I needed to create smoother transitions between my paragraphs or I needed to add more history/ origin or add the personal touch of what pictures meant to me. I have too much description. The word I was defining wasn’t clear. I needed other perspectives added to my essay.

Two simple sentences define the whole purpose of my essay:

“Pictures aren’t just moments in time captured through a machine. Pictures are the best types of memories because if taken right, they capture more than just that instantaneous moment, they capture all the emotion.”

The exposure to other essays showed where I was lacking. Four revisions later and I still feel as if my essay is a rough draft. Maybe next time, I’ll have a final draft to post. 

Until then,

-Mary

 

Leave a Reply

