Read to Read

Who reads anymore? Like sit down in a comfortable chair or on the bed, crack open a physical book, and read for hours because you got so absorbed in the story and lost track of time. I sure don’t. But I wish I did.

I used to check out arm fulls of book from the library and find a quiet corner of the house and immerse myself in the fantasies of books. Obviously, my reading habits have drastically changed since elementary school. Lack of time being a factor because studying demands too much of my time. The only books I read anymore are textbooks and required books for English.

Photo ©2013 by Val D'Aquila [CC BY-NC-SA 2.0]
Photo ©2013 by Val D’Aquila [CC BY-NC-SA 2.0]
My favorite thing about reading came in the summer; summer reading programs. Free In-N-Out burgers for reading 5 books? Read 100 books and win a giant monkey plush that wouldn’t fit in the backseat of the car? Yes please! But, unfortunately, I outgrew that program, so now I have to pay for my own burgers and as for giant plush animals, I have no use for them in the house.

Reading for pleasure has become seemingly so uncommon now because of the technology readily available. I rarely see anyone without their phone or tablet or iPod and their eyes glued to the bright LCD screens. It’s all about games, videos, and social media.

Not to be hypocrite though, because I do enjoy my dose of videos on YouTube and social media and my iPhone. I understand the appeal of technology because I love it just as deeply. I know it’s bad for me, but the addiction is just too strong.

But I believe that nothing ever amounts to a good book. Even though reading has become easier, with books available through online bookstores, and even audio books to listen to. The decrease in reading coincides with the increase of usage of technology.

But technology isn’t all bad, of course. Recently, a kick starter was created to relaunch Reading Rainbow, a popular show that advocated reading through the reading of education books with pictures of the book flashing across the screen.

When I first heard about its revival through an app, it brought back so many memories because I remember watching that show. The theme song especially brought back nostalgic feelings of how I would go with my mom to work and sit in front of a small television with antennas that I had to constantly adjust to get a decent picture without static.

The overwhelming support for the kick starter shows how much reading we aren’t doing because parents are looking towards education programs to encourage reading.

I think books are great. Technology seems one dimensional compared to books because books create that picture and story that can never be depicted anywhere else.

That’s why movie adaptions always fall short compared to the books. They can never capture all the scenes and emotions that are wrapped up in the small packages of complex words. So much is expressed in those words that it can never be recreated. This in turn leaves the audience wanting more from the movie because so many scenes were cut out from the final product.

Photo ©2013 by Jonathan Emmanuel Flores Tarello [CC BY-NC-ND 2.0]
Photo ©2013 by Jonathan Emmanuel Flores Tarello [CC BY-NC-ND 2.0]

There’s so much difference between books and movies, even though their goals are similar; to portray a story. Movies are a more passive activity while reading is more active. Watching images flash across the screen doesn’t provide much educational enhancement, while the analyzation of a book sparks the mind to think and can also increase vocabulary.

So, since I’m on break for the next week, I think it’s time for me to catch up on my reading.

-Mary

Leave a Reply

