Short Cut Essays

Songs are our lives in lyrics.

Here are some that we picked from our narrative essays. 

Kristie

“It was like foreign soul grabbed my heart and ripped it from my chest. It was like when she died, she took my father with her. My ability to speak drowned in shattering sobs.”

My essay is about the day I found out my beloved grandmother passed away.

“May Angels Lead You In” Jimmy Meets World

The saddest part about death is that you’ll never see the person again. You’ll never hear them speak, you’ll never talk to them, they’ll never be there. Literally, a hole has opened up in place of their presence. For me, my grandmother’s death meant that the person who believed in me the most was gone. The person who raised me as a child was gone. I had so many regrets about her death. So many times, I’ve wished and prayed that I could thank her for what she’s done. I’ve begged God, or whoever is up there, for one more chance to talk to her. I want to tell her about my successes, my failures. I want to hear her say she’s proud of me, that she loves me. What would she think of me now? I know that she is watching me from heaven.

“What would you think of me now,

so lucky, so strong, so proud?

I never said thank you for that,

now I’ll never have a chance.”

Stacie

“Walking outside I looked back multiple times trying not to leave all the memories that were inside behind. In the dark outside, it felt like a different time. It was colder, the small amount of people were scattered, and the place looked more mysterious with no lights. In the car I placed in the CD and played NEEDTOBREATHE so I could remember and soak up every moment of this night.”

My essay is about going to a concert to see and meet my favorite band.

“Good Life” by One Republic

That day was one of the best days of my life. It made me feel alive and believe that the life I am living is a good life. I had finally done something impulsive, making the split second decision to keep on going straight instead of turning to the beach. It was the best decision, getting to meet NEEDTOBREATHE, my favorite band. It gave me this feeling of complete happiness and fullness. I had done something great. Not all the lyrics match what was going on during the concert, but the overall meaning does. It added to what makes this a good life. Those moments that make you feel most alive.

“Say, ‘Oh, got this feeling that you can’t fight’

Like this city is on fire tonight

This could really be a good life, a good, good life”

Mary

“Another 15 minutes passed, and we were still walking around aimlessly. My feet were becoming sore from standing for four hours and walking around for another 45 minutes.”

I recounted my experience after a One Direction concert when my cousin, Anh, and I were hopelessly lost in the city of Pasadena.

“Long Way Home” by 5 Seconds of Summer

Long Way Home relates back to my narrative because it describes how my cousin and I were wandering in an unknown area of the city and desperately trying to find our way to our car. “Now we’re stuck in the middle of nowhere.

“Yeah, you know we took our time to get there”

After walking in various directions with little sense of direction, we had no idea where we were going. We couldn’t have anyone pick us up at this time, so it was just the two of us trying to find our way home – to the car. We were a long way from the car, and a longer way from Fountain Valley. We walked for over an hour until we finally arrived at our car, just before the gates closed at midnight.

“Take me back to the middle of nowhere

Back to the place only you and I share

Remember all the memories?”

These lyrics especially remind me of my adventure after the concert. Thinking back to the night of September 13 always makes me smile and want to relive it again. So much went on and life-long memories were made, in the middle of a city that made me feel like I was in the middle of nowhere.

Jennifer

“Can I really do this? What if something goes wrong? but those thoughts didn’t matter, because the my heart was saying, ‘You can do this. Be strong and take that leap of faith.’”

I went back in time to the day conquered my fear of falling and went down The Leap of Faith, a  60 feet vertical drop.

“Roar” by Katy Perry

Everyone has their fears; some may have a fear of the dark, others may have a fear of spiders. But my fear was a little different. Growing up as a little girl, my parents were a little protective of me. They didn’t want my brother and I to get hurt so we didn’t really get to try the “dangerous stuff.” I remember my mom telling me not to the gymnastics bars during recess time..B but i of course didn’t listen to her. I love the adrenaline I would get from simply supporting my weight on top of thin piece of metal  and flipping over. Though, I would be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous. Every single time I was on those bars, all these bad consequences would run through my mind: like my hand slipping and then me falling. There definitely were times when I was too scared, “so bite my tongue and hold my breath, Scared to rock the boat and make a mess.” I guess you can say I have a fear of risks and putting my life on the line, but if you ask me what I want to do before I’m 25, I’ll say bungee jumping, sky – diving, white water rafting, cliff jumping, and cave diving.

“You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)

Already brushing off the dust

You hear my voice, you hear that sound

Like thunder gonna shake the ground

You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)

Get ready ’cause I’ve had enough

I see it all, I see it now”

The ‘you’ in this verse refers to my inner thoughts. One side of me is thinking of all the possibilities that could go bad, preventing from me take the risk. The other side – there’s that motivation inside of me that is pushing me and persuading me to do it. It’s Me vs. Myself and it’s my choice of what I want to pick and who I want to be. Do I want to be someone who is able to face my fear or do I want to be that coward who backs down? When I break the bonds that are holding me down, I would finally be able to get up. When I took that Leap of Faith that day, it felt amazing. Right when I push myself down the waterslide, letting out that blood-curling scream, I knew that I “ROARED.” I could definitely see a future me doing things I would never thought of before.

Leah

“But in this moment, I look up from my phone and realize that there is never going to be a better time to create myself than in this moment. This moment allows me to be the person I want to be. It gives me a chance to redefine myself.”

Nobody is perfect, and everyone is different, so I need to learn how to accept that the person I am is the best person I can be.

Throughout my life, I have heard the phrase “just be yourself” from almost every adult I know. They always look at me and say, “wow, that girl is comfortable with who she is.” But the truth is, I have never been completely true to my personality and who I am. I hold back parts of me, while letting others outshine the rest. “I want to live, not merely survive” It is pointless to live a life that isn’t enjoyable. Life isn’t about surviving and just barely making it through by the skin of your teeth. It’s about embracing what is happening around you and dealing with it in the best way you can,“whether I’m right or whether I’m wrong.”

 

I’ve Gotta be Me by Ryan Tedder

“Whether I’m right or whether I’m wrong

Whether I find a place in this world or never belong

I gotta be me, I’ve gotta be me

What else can I be but what I am

I’ve gotta be me

I want to live, not merely survive

And I won’t give up this dream

Of life that keeps me alive

I gotta be me, I gotta be me

What else can I be but what I am

Yeah, I’ve gotta be me”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

